Cosponsored by

Assisted by

Indexed by




Keynote Speakers


Keynote Speaker

Prof. Robert Minasian, FIEEE, FOSA
The University of Sydney, Australia

Ultra-wideband microwave photonic signal processing

Professor Minasian is a Chair Professor with the School of Electrical and Information Engineering at the University of Sydney, Australia. He is also the Director of the Fibre-optics and Photonics Laboratory. His research has made key contributions to microwave photonic signal processing. He is recognized as an author of one of the top 1% most highly cited papers in his field worldwide. Professor Minasian has contributed over 345 research publications, including Invited papers in the IEEE Transactions and Journals, and Plenary and Invited papers at leading international conferences. Professor Minasian was the recipient of the ATERB Medal for Outstanding Investigator in Telecommunications, awarded by the Australian Telecommunications and Electronics Research Board. He is a Fellow of the IEEE, and a Fellow of the Optical Society of America.


Plenary Speakers

Assoc. Prof. Waleed Habib Abdulla
The University of Auckland, New Zealand

Waleed H. Abdulla holds a PhD Degree from the University of Otago, New Zealand. He is an Associate Professor in the University of Auckland. He was the Vice President- Member Relations and Development (APSIPA) for two terms. He has been a Visiting Researcher/Collaborator with Tsinghua University, Siena University (Italy), Essex University (UK), IDIAP (Switzerland), TIT (Japan), ETRI (Korea), HKPU (Hong Kong). He has published more than 150 refereed publications. He is member of Editorial Boards of six journals. He supervised over 25 postgraduate students. He is a recipient of many awards and funded projects exceeding $1M and was awarded JSPS, ETRI, and Tsinghua fellowships. He received Excellent Teaching Awards for 2005 and 2012. He is a Member of APSIPA and Senior Member of IEEE.

Assoc. Prof. Ruili Wang
Massey University, New Zealand

Speech Recognition

Dr. Ruili Wang is Associate Professor in Computer Science and IT, Associate Postgraduate Director, School of Engineering and Advanced Technology, Massey University (Albany Campus), New Zealand.

He is Associated Editor or Member of Editorial Boards of several journals, such as The IEEE Intelligent Informatics Bulletin, International Journal of Modelling, Identification and Control, etc. His research interests include Pattern Analysis and Machine Intelligence, Speech Processing (e.g., Maori Speech Recognition, Speech Emotion), Language Processing (e.g. sentiment analysis, machine translation), Image Processing, Big data, Intelligent Systems (e.g., intelligent tutoring systems), Complex Systems.

 Prof. Luis Anido-Rifón
University of Vigo, Spain

Luis Anido-Rifón has a Telecommunication Engineering degree with honors (1997) and a Telecommunication Engineering Ph.D. with honors (2001) from the University of Vigo. Since 2009 he is a Full Professor with the Telematics Engineering Department and serves as Director of the Innovation in Education Unit of the University of Vigo.

His current areas of work focus on the application of ICT for the provision of e-services. Highlights include e-learning, e-government, educational technology standards and specifications, the semantic web, service customization and interactive TV applications. Within the scope of standardization of educational technologies, it is worth mentioning that he is technical secretary of the AENOR CTN71 SC36 group, representing Spain in CEN TC353 and ISO JTC1 SC36, director of the CEN Learning Technology Standards Observatory (LTSO) and author of five CEN Workshop Agreements CWA). He has received awards as the lead author of works presented at the prestigious World Wide Web Conference organized by the W3C in its 2001 editions (Highlight Paper) and 2002 (Best Paper Education Track). Other prizes received have been: Young Researchers Prize of the Royal Galician Academy of Sciences, Prize for the Best Doctoral Thesis of the Official College of Telecommunication Engineers, Extraordinary Prize of Doctorate and End of Career Award of the Ministry of Education, etc.